Fenway Park located near Kenmore Square in Boston is a baseball park and the oldest Major League Baseball stadium currently in use. Located at 4 Yawkey Way, Fenway Parkhas been home for the Boston Red Sox since 1912 . Considered to be one of the best-known sports venues in the world, it became the oldest in 1990 when Comiskey Park was demolished. Every Red Sox home game since May 15, 2003, has sold out and in 2008 a Major League record was broken when 456th consecutive Red Sox game was sold out.
The park has had many renovations and additions over the years including the Triangle, Pesky’s Pole, and most notably the famous Green Monster in left field. Fenway Park is renowned for hosting dedicated Red Sox fans, collectively called Red Sox Nation .
Although Fenway Park is the oldest Major League Baseball stadium, it is one of the most beloved ballparks. The enthusiastic and exciting atmosphere outside of Fenway Park before games is truly unique and cannot be found elsewhere. Yawkey Way is closed prior to games so fans can enjoy live music, great food and the company of other Red Sox fans. They can also check out the Red Sox Team Store or snag a signature of a past Red Sox player at Autograph Alley.
Besides baseball, Fenway Park has been the site of many other sporting and cultural events, including professional football games for the Boston Redskins and the Boston Patriots, concerts, soccer and hockey games, political and religious campaigns.
The history of Fenway Park dates back to 1901 when Red Sox became a charter member of the American League. In 1911, owner John I. Taylor bought the developed land bordered by Brookline Avenue, Jersey Street, Van Ness Street and Lansdowne Street into a larger baseball stadium.
Construction of the ballpark began in September 1911. It took one year for the 27,000 seat Fenway Park to be constructed.
The 1920s , Babe Ruth was sold to the Yankees and then the team was sold. However, better times came to Fenway Park when Thomas A. Yawkey bought the Red Sox in 1933. Renovations quickly began at Fenway Park. The seating capacity was also increased from 27,642 to 33,817. The most significant feature added to the ballpark was the 37 foot high wall in left field. A tragic fire in January 1934 destroyed most of the construction, however the ballpark was reopened on April 17, 1934.
Throughout its history there have been small expansions and changes made to Fenway Park. In 1936, a 23 foot net was placed to prevent baseballs from breaking windows . The “Green Monster” was created in 1947 when the advertisements were removed from the left field wall and it was painted dark green. Night baseball at Fenway Park was first played in 1947. After the 1975 season, a $1.3 million video/scoreboard was placed .the press box was enlarged, enclosed in glass and air-conditioned.
In 2002 the Red Sox were sold to John Henry, Tom Werner and Larry Lucchino. Since 2003, there have been numerous improvements and upgrades done to the ballpark. The latest renovations at Fenway Park, completed before the 2009, 2010 and 2011 seasons, involved replacing and refurbishing seats in the lower bowl. The original 1912 seating bowl was also repaired and waterproofed. The right field roof was expanded and repaired to seat 575 fans. Prior to the start of the 2011 season, a new 38’x100′ HD video/scoreboard will be installed . The current capacity at Fenway Park is now 36,974 during day games and 37, 402 during night games.
Fenway Park Facts
- Location – 4 Yawkey Way , Boston, Massachusetts
- Broke ground- September 25, 1911
- Opened – April 20, 1912
- Owner – New England Sports Ventures (NESV) / Boston Red Sox
- Surface – Grass
- Construction Cost – US$650,000 ($14.5 million in 2010 dollars)
- Architect – Osborne Engineering Corp.
- Capacity – 37,402 (night) ; 36,974 (day) (2010)